We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Shameless Pop Songs [EP]

by Turtlebox

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Paying supporters also get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app.
    Purchasable with gift card

      name your price


Torn Apart 03:16
Not Anymore 03:50
Fire Truck 03:02


Turtlebox was a band formed in Brisbane in 1993. The original line up consisted of Paul Milsom, Roland Bishop, Greg Baxter and Bret Kylanberg.

The band signed a 2 EP deal with indie label Emily Records (Shock Records) and released the debut EP 'Shameless Pop Songs' in 1994 to national and international acclaim.

The lead single 'Shameless Pop Song' was quickly added to rotation on Triple J, which lead to extensive touring of the east coast as well as support slots for the likes of Silverchair, The Church, Soundgarden, You Am I, The Jesus & Mary Chain, Powderfinger, Dreamkillers and playing Livid in '95 and the '96 Big Day Out plus many others.

'Shameless Pop Song' placed at #59 in 4ZZZ's Hot 100 in 1995. It was also rated by Richard Kingsmill as one of the top 5 releases in a monthly round-up in early '95.

The band was picked up by Brisbane's Powderfinger management company just before the release of the EP around May of 1994 and Secret Service (formerly known as Valhalla) managed by Paul Pitico (Powderfinger, The Grates, Magic Dirt, Splendour in the Grass) went on to manage the band until their split in 1999.

After extensive touring and gigging, the band had formed into a tight, hard edged pop/rock band. They had recruited hard-hitting drummer Ross McLennan (Far Out Corporation, The Predators) and added new bassist Damien Burge.

In mid-1995 the band laid down their 2nd EP 'U.F.O Jesus Returns' within a few days under the watchful eye/ear of Magoo aka Lachlan Goold (Regurgitator, Midnight Oil) who himself went onto to win an ARIA award for his sound engineering prowess.

Though 'U.F.O Jesus Returns' did not gain the airplay that 'Shameless Pop Songs' received with only one song, 'Haunting Colour Blue' gaining light rotation on Triple J, it still received glowing reviews nationally and internationally with one reviewer from the Adelaide Press giving it 5/5 stars and calling it one of the best releases of the year.

After several "assured" record deals fell away and with many in the industry seeing the band as too much of a risk, the band self-financed their 3rd and final EP 'Good Night Good Bye' and called it a day.

Although a strong release, it "apparently" failed to provide a single for radio play and by the end of 1999 the band had imploded and Turtlebox were no more.

A sad end to a band that should have done much more and gone much further.


released August 1, 1994

Paul Milsom - guitar, vocals
Roland Bisshop - lead guitar
Greg Baxter - bass
Bret Cuylenberg - drums

Recorded by Ramesh Sathiah at Rocking Horse Studiom, Byron Bay

Mastered by Malcolm Jacobson at Grevillea Studios, Albion


all rights reserved



Brisbane Music Graveyard Brisbane, Australia

A passionate posterity project aiming to share some of the great music created in South East QLD that might otherwise be lost to boxes under beds and discarded hard drives.

All monies go to 4ZZZ.

A 4000 Records initiative.

BMG logo and banner art by @smellychops
... more

contact / help

Contact Brisbane Music Graveyard

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

Brisbane Music Graveyard recommends:

If you like Shameless Pop Songs [EP], you may also like: